If you have recently bought a car and you are having problems with it, you might be wondering if Maryland lemon law applies for used car. If it is a used car, unfortunately, lemon laws in MD do not apply. The laws in MD only apply to new or leased cars, motorcycles, and light trucks. The vehicle must be registered in the state and must have less than 18,000 miles. The car also must be less than 24-months old.
Is Your New Car a Lemon?
The law in this state ensures that the manufacturer or dealer must correct the issue within 30 days of the consumer notifying the manufacturer in writing. This notification must be sent via certified mail. If the car cannot be repaired, the buyer can get a replacement vehicle or a refund for the purchase. Other conditions that a car is a lemon include:
- Steering or brake failure that was not fixed after the first attempt and that causes the vehicle to not pass the state inspection
- Any issue that affects the market value or use of the vehicle
- Any issue that affects the use of the vehicle that takes more than 30 cumulative days to fix
If you believe that you have a lemon on your hands, and you have already tried to get the car fixed a couple of times by the dealer, you must then contact the manufacturer. You also should consider contacting a local attorney for help. You shouldn’t expect the manufacturer to be jumping all over this issue. So, you might need assistance since you may not get a lot of cooperation. You should also contact a legal professional if you are not sure if you have a lemon. They can help you figure it out.
If you have a used car, the lemon law might not apply, but you can contact Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center in Maryland for new car issues. Reach them online.